Posted by: shelleyjo's life beat | November 2, 2008

The Ten Daily Positive Things (TDPT) Journal

This is a piece of advice blogged on, and passed on, by Diane at thedianestory.wordpress.com

I read Diane’s post and thought, “What a great thing to blog on!”

It is reminiscent of my own childhood, when I began to “count the blessings” in my life and remember how good God is, no matter what I was going through.

When I was a very small child, my favorite hymn was “Count Your Blessings” (name them one by one), and I sang it out loud, a lot, which I am sure my siblings and mom were tired of. I didn’t realize at the time that I was rehearsing a pattern of coming up into joy in the painful, lonely times. I was learning and gaining a pattern in my life of changing my mind (and life) by refusing to give place to depression and death.

I used this pattern the other night when I blogged on Christmas tradition and it’s transition in our lives to give me a warm fuzzy. I was so upset at not being able to pay bills, and then to find my Zune was gone! Waaah!!! No, wait! Let’s remember how awesome Christmas is!

Of all the things I have survived in my life, the separation of my parents a couple of weeks before my 8th birthday (Christmas) was the most painful, and the most difficult for me to cope with. It brought with it a lot of trauma,  abandonment and rejection. (The Bible says that divorce covers a house with violence. This is true.)

 I look back now, and realized that writing things down was a tremendous tool to help me get through, as well as counting my blessings. When I would sing that song, I would then start to count the blessings I could think of out loud. I believe this was the Holy Spirit instructing me in life. I am very certain that He taught me, and that He brought it up out of my belly by His Spirit, but I didn’t realize it then.

I have actually given similar advice to the TCPT Jouranl to young people, and to some my own age, in the past 20 years, without thinking of calling it by a name. I am very glad for Diane sharing her post on this, so I could see it by a name and define it with specifics (ten things).

ShelleyJo’s TDPT for today, November 1, 2008.

1. For God the Father (Papa), Jesus His Son (Big Brother), and the Holy Spirit in my life from the womb, and my healing in Him.

2. For the Bible, and for being given the love of it at a young age.

3. For my husband, who is the best one for me.

4. For the friendship of my mom and siblings that has been forged in our adulthood and through pain. It is precious and sweet! (For total forgiveness of my father and knowing I honestly want him in heaven with us.)

5. For dear friends in my life, who don’t abandon me, even when others would.

6. For all the young people in my family and life, and their precious friendship with me.

7. For a job I love and enjoy, and the health insurance it provides me.

8. For my Zune Mp3 player, which was lost and is now found!

9. For this computer, and the blogging pleasure it brings me.

10. For my cell phone and all it’s fun features, including the photos of my peeps and our beloved pets.

(Hmmm. I think I cheat by combining things to get more on there! LOL! Too hard to stick with Just ten. I’ve always had a problem making limited choices. I want it all!)

Hymn titled “Count Your Blessings”, by memory. I will have to look up the author.                                           

When upon life’s billows you are tempest tossed,
When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,
Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.
Chorus:
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
Count your blessings, see what God hath done!
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

Are you ever burdened with a load of care?
Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?
Count your many blessings, every doubt will fly,
And you will keep singing as the days go by.

Chorus

When you look at others with their lands and gold,
Think that Christ has promised you His wealth untold;
Count your many blessings. Wealth can never buy
Your reward in heaven, nor your home on high.

Chorus

So, amid the conflict whether great or small,
Do not be disheartened, God is over all;
Count your many blessings, angels will attend,
Help and comfort give you to your journey’s end.

Chorus

(Been a long time, not sure of the third verse, but it is pretty close, I think ;O) )
I love the winky face just before the parenthasis, it looks like me with my double chin! LOL!

And, just blogging this has lifted me up for today.

Thanks, again Diane for sharing your TDPT blog and your story with us. Your destiny is great!

Post script:

Author of the hymn is Johnson Oatman, Jr., and…the words are correct! Wow!

Responses

  1. And THANK YOU for posting on it! And thank you for this song will now be playing through my head all weekend long. It’s funny you would post on this because after posting last night and lying bed, I began to think of that horrible night when my dad left, and how I walked to your house at it turned dark, down the darkened bike path, but God protected me and I made it to your house safely, and by God’s provision you were actually home for me to find. Wow. How far God has brought me from the night, huh? So crazy. It just brought back so many thoughts to me.

    I LOVE YOU.

  2. I noticed something, honey. When you were responding to me above, rather than saying “how far God has brought me from that night”, you said, “how far God has brought me from the night”.
    This is true, no matter what your current pain and suffering. He has brought you from the night and into the light of day. No question about that, and brought you from the grip of death into life and strength, and this is a sign of health! The truth is, you have health. Your body is just committing mutiny right now, and I just KNOW that this season will come to it’s end. Keep on walking in the light, honey. The son is rising with healing in His wings.
    Love you so much.

  3. Thanks. I look forward to the day when I will have the strength to share my story full-force to be able to bring glory to God. “He who began a good work in me, will be faithful to complete it.”
    I know that to be true!

    Blessings!

    P.S. Sunday (today) would have been G&G Valente’s anniversary, so mom is having a hard time. We are going to go put flowers on the grave tomorrow. So if you’d remember her in prayer, that’d be great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

