Posted by: shelleyjo's life beat | November 5, 2008

SKIT: Can You Hear Me Now?

SKIT: Can You Hear Me Now?
 
Revelation 3:20
  “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.”
 
Question: What does this scripture say to you? How do you perceive this scripture? To whom is Jesus speaking?
 
Woman with dress, scarf over head, religious looking:
 
Comes into room and kneels, sighs with deep breaths. Says very breathily, “Father”. “Thou knowest how much thou art loved by me. Thou art more important to me than all mine own desires…”
 
Jerks head up, and yells in an angry voice: “Shut up, you STUPID brats! Can’t you just be quiet and pretend you aren’t here? I am PRAYING!!!!”
 
Bows head and in a breathy voice: “Ah, Father! I so adore Thee. I pray that Thou fillest me with Thy great love, and revealest to me Thy great treasures out of the darkness so that….
 
Gets up, angrily and quickly. “I SAID, SHUT UP!” “NOW! I am praying to the Heavenly Father, you little morons. Do I have to come in there and make you wish you had never been born, you rotten little monsters?” Where is your father? Lazy as usual…leaving.
 
Exits room.
 
Woman dressed in sneakers and exercise or casual wear, like shorts, etc.:
 
Comes in so busy, in a hurry, breathless from the hustle, chatting, doing all the talking without taking time to listen.
 
Okay, God. I am so busy but I thought I would just check in and have a chat with you real quick, okay, Buddy?…okay?…Hummm!
 
Well, anyway. I was just noticing how I am so busy, and working so hard at everything, you know, and nice to everyone too! And so, well anyway I was wondering why all of my stuff seems to be falling apart and I can’t afford to replace it. So, like, what is that?…Hello?
 
I mean, like, You said that if we work hard our hard work and kindness will be rewarded, didn’t You? So, what’s Your deal? HELLO!!
 
Huhm. Here I am chatting with You and you don’t even answer! Well, whatever!
 
Still being busy.
 
I do really love you. I mean, I am not only doing everything there is to do here at home, with practically NO help at all, and then I teach the Sunday School class, and then I go to Bible Study. I never complain, either. Then, this goes on with my car, and the kids just keep on getting sick, and then mom is in the hospital! Well, obviously I would be upset. But I just want to thank you for the new cars you have provided for most of my friends. I am happy about that. I would like one myself, any time now. But, I really am concerned for the health issues the most I guess.
Hello!? Are You there? Hello-o-o?
 
Still moving about, doing busy things.
 
Oh! Well, okay. Sure. Alright. I KNOW that I have not spoken to Sister Sue at church in awhile. Okay, 3 months. I know we used to sit by each other and sing together in worship, share meals and laugh a lot. I miss that…but if you remember, SHE offended me!!! I mean, like what a rude thing to have said, and behind my back and all! I heard all about it, and You KNOW they are a very reliable source. I was just as shocked as You must be! I thought we were committed to love one another. Remember?
Um, okay…Can You Hear Me?  Silence for a moment.
 
I am sorry I have not been reaching out to her, You know, so if You will convict her soon so she will apologize to me, then I can forgive and release her and we can all feel better, okay?
 
So, I am so excited about the new child care center coming into town. Those women really seem to have their stuff together, don’t you think?…
 
Quiet… Can You Hear Me NOW?
 
sigh! Okay…
 
Go to phone, pick up receiver and call Sister Sue.
“Hi, Sue? Hello. You know, umm, we haven’t been together for awhile and …I really miss you! Yeah, I know.
Please forgive me for my part, too okay? I know I should have gotten in touch with you sooner…me, too. Say, lets get together and talk this out, okay? I really do miss you! Okay, our favorite spot at 11:00. See you there! Bye now.”
 
Hang up receiver.
Softly, genuine… Can You hear me now?….
pause…
            Good!
 
Revelation 3:21
  “To him who overcomes I will grant to sit with Me on My throne, as I also overcame and sat down with My Father on His throne. 22 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

 

by ShelleyJo Wilkinson

Responses

  1. Well well well…I know who to come to for help for this stuff now! Nice work Shelley Jo. Nice work. That was Awesome! You are gifted, ya know….


Leave a Reply

Categories

