Posted by: shelleyjo's life beat | November 20, 2008

“The Pear Tree”

I copied this story from a blog by Sara Stolpp. I like it too well to not have a copy, and I want Diane to see this tonight, no matter where she is looking! Diane, honey, this one is for you and there is nothing better that could be said for you right now, so here is Sara’s blog to you! We love you, sweetie and you are not forgotten tonight. Now go read this on Sara’s beautiful website! It looks lovelier there. ShelleyJo

There was a man who had four sons. He wanted his sons to learn not to judge things too quickly. So he sent them each on a quest, in turn, to go and look at a pear tree that was a great distance away. The first son went in the winter, the second in the spring, the third in summer, and the youngest son in the fall.

The man then explained to his sons that they were all right, because they had each seen but only one season in the tree’s life. He told them that you cannot judge a tree, or a person, by only one season, and that the essence of who they are and the pleasure, joy, and love that come from that life can only be measured at the end, when all the seasons are up.

If you give up when it’s winter, you will miss the promise of your spring, the beauty of your summer, fulfilment of your fall. Don’t let the pain of one season destroy the joy of all the rest.
Don’t judge life by one difficult season. Persevere through the difficult patches and better times are sure to come some time.

I got this little story in an email from my mom and it made me think of one person, my best friend Diane. She is going through a hard season, one that has lasted a long time and I hope this story gives her some hope for her future. This season too shall pass and without going through it you won’t know the beauty that is the future. Life without pain will be that much sweeter having known something different. You will come out of this more stronger, more humble, more empathetic and more thankful for life! I hope tomorrow marks the end of this season in your life and I pray that God delivers you into more fruitful seasons! I love you!

posted by Sara on Nov 19, 2008

Responses

  1. You flatter me! I hope she reads this tonight and feels loved & encouraged! Thanks Shelley for loving my friend!

  2. My prayers go out to your friend.

    I found this story appropriate for my life as well. Thanks.

    http://www.wildhorsehope.wordpress.com

  3. Thanks for checking in on this blog, Scott. I asked God to bring those who needed the encouragement to this post.

    I am lifting prayers for you this evening, as well. God bless you in this season you are currently in, and bring you into the next season with health, strength and joy!

  4. Thanks Shelley. I appreciate your love and support. I hope you get into a better season again soon. I love and miss you.

  5. Thanks for sharing that beautiful story that Sara wrote. Thanks for always caring for my baby even if we don’t see each other very much. I appreciate all that you have done over the years for my children. I appreciate the friendship I have in you and always being there for me through good and bad times.

    1Cor. chpt. 13 If we could all learn from this it would be a much better place. Ps 139 is a great chpt. to explain Gods love.

    I will be in touch today sometime and let you know how things are. Love ya

    Linda


Leave a Reply

Categories

