Posted by: shelleyjomoozings | August 17, 2009

Meme: 15 Books That Changed My Life

Diane (thedianestory.wordpress.com) originally did this post as a note on Facebook, but thought it would be fun to put on her blog. She tagged me. Let’s make this a blogging MEME. Do this MEME and then tag your friends.

15 Books That Changed Your Life

Rules:

Just list 15 books you’ve read that will always stick with you that somehow helped shape who you are today and how you think. Tag 5 friends, or as many as you want.

(To do this, copy these rules, type a new blog, and then tag five friends to do this MEME too.) Let’s learn a little bit more about our blogging friends! 

     1. The Bible

     2. Fire of Delayed Answers – Bob Sorge

     3. The Hidden Power of Prayer and Fasting, by Mahesh Chavda

     4. In His Steps – Charles M. Sheldon   ( I read this as a child. Mom had it on her bookshelf as we grew up.)

     5. My Savior, My Friend – Kay Arthur

     6. On Writing, A Memoir of the Craft – Stephen King

     7. Fasting – Jentezen Franklin

     8. Prayer –  Richard Foster

     9. The Final Quest – Rick Joyner

    10.  Lord, Is It Warfare? Teach Me To Stand – Kay Arthur

    11. A Wrinkle In Time – Madeleine L’Engle (My sister read this to us at least yearly as we grew up.)

    12. You Are Not What You Weigh – Lisa Bevere

    13. Breaking Intimidation, How to Overcome Fear – John Bevere

    14. Intercessory Prayer – How God Can Use Your Prayer to Move Heaven and Earth – Dutch Sheets

    15. Some of the Ways of God In  Healing, how to get answers and direction when you are suffering –  Joy Dawson     

   Bonus: The Hiding Place – Corrie Ten Boom (read in high school and changed me forever, as did the books on the underground railroad.)   

   Bonus 2: The old, thick, grey book on mom’s shelf, 101 poems, or something like that. I read it a lot, starting in grammar school. It had The Raven and the Hellbound Train poems in it. My fav forever!)

Too bad it is so late in summer now. We could have a summer reading club, and read the books on our friends’ lists.

I used to go to the library in the summer as a child. They had a reading club there. A few days a week a woman would read aloud and show the pages as she read. The alternate days, you could come and sit for hours, reading books. I loved that so much.

My sister always read to us. And because of her I learned about the library. I credit her for my love of reading. Otherwise, I may never have appreciated the treasures on those old pages.

Of course, as I typed this list, I was immediately reminded of so many more great books, but these impacted me in some way that has always lasted over the years.

I hope you read some of them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

