Posted by: shelleyjo's life beat | September 1, 2009

Movie Night Across The Miles

                                                                                 

I have had this idea for years, possibly 15-20 years now, but have never seen the opportunity to try it before.      

It really gelled about 15 years ago when a dear friend moved to another state. She had a computer that she watched DVD’s on, but I didn’t have a computer yet, and didn’t have a DVD player either. I had a VCR, though. 

I remember thinking, too bad we don’t have the same type of player so we can both watch the same movie at the same time! I didn’t think DVD and VCR would be in sync, so I never brought it up.  I really missed her. We didn’t actually watch movies together, or even go to the show, but when she was so far away I thought it would be a great way to share time together. Then there was the issue  of how to communicate when we were starting the movie and how to actually share it together.

After this, the thought came to me occasionally when I would think of one of my sister-in-laws who lives a couple of states away from me. We weren’t really getting as close as others because of distance, and neither household had enough money to visit.

Much time has passed since my original thoughts of all of this, and it dawned on me last week that things have changed for so many of us. We have computers with social networking, online chats, cell phones, text messaging, and we all have DVD players now! Hmmm.

So, late last week when this sister-in-love (we are sisters by love, not by law),  and I were chatting online, she mentioned that my baby brother was going out of town to go to a game with their pastor. They were going to spend some much needed “guy time”, so the women of the house were not invited this time. My sister said that she and my niece had thought they might watch a chick flick since he would be gone all evening the next day.                                                              

I asked her which chick flick they would watch. She said maybe the Princess Diaries, since that was one they had on hand and enjoyed so much. I told her about my idea and said, let me know when you are going to watch it! I will watch it with you from here. Then, I explained the plan.    

The next evening we were in a chat again, and I asked when they were going to watch it. She said my niece wasn’t in the mood at the time, and we can chat for hours. So I said, we don’t have to stay on chat. We can click out of here any time we want and watch the movie.       

So, plans were made. We both had Princess Diaries, we would both pop popcorn to eat while watching and set up something to drink, then plug the  movie in, watch the neccessary previews and stop it at the beginning of the actual movie intro. Then text the other and say we were ready.

I text her and said I was ready. A few moments later she said she was too, so we clicked play and texted our comments about it. Throughout the movie we would send a text about our reactions to what we were seeing, and we were in complete sync in each of our houses. 

We both love Joe!                The Princess Diaries (2001) Starring: Julie Andrews, Anne Hathaway ...            

 

We love Fat Louie, especially in his crown and on his pillow!  Princess Diaries

I actually texted a couple of my favorite lines or quotes so that I would remember them later.

One was a conversation between Joe and Mia when her friend was rough on her for changing her appearance:   

Joe: No one can make you feel inferior without your permission.   The Princess Diaries - HomeVideos.com                                                     

Mia: Eleanor Roosevelt said that.      

Joe: Another fine lady such as yourself.                    

And:

 

We both loved the voice of Mia’s father, and the message he left for her in a letter. I love the diary he left her for her 16 birthday, and the heart locket that was the key for it. I would love to have such a lovely diary.

 The message he wrote her contained the following: “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear. The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all. From now on, you’ll be traveling the road between who you think you are, and who you can be. The key is to allow yourself to make the journey.”                                                                                                                                                                                                    The Queen and the Princess in                     See the dent?                     The Hot Rod Homepage

We both text the lines we enjoyed. “Goodbye, Trolly People! ”   The Princess Diaries (Home     was a fav of mine.             The Princess Diaries Review - Read Variety's Analysis Of The Movie The ...  

I loved the lines by the Von Tukens: “Someday we will own Genovia again, and you will be queen. And your face will be on a postage stamp.”   American Rhetoric: Movie Speech - Princess Diaries - Mia Announces Her ...

Another line I enjoyed was the toast to the Von Tukens: : “I want to propose a toast to the baron and baroness Von Tuken. May you always be barren!”

One conversation between Joe and Mia was cute.  He was getting ready to teach her to dance, and he was explaining that the dance was between a waltz and a tango. She said, “It’s a wango?”

Another favorite moment of ours was when Mia steps on the grass visiting grandma, and over the speakers they yell, “Get off the grass!” in several languages, some quite hysterically.

There is a moment where Mia is having training to waive as a Princess, and Joe leaves. As he is leaving, they both waive and say, “Thank you for being here today!”

I enjoy Mia’s artist mother, and love the scenes of them climbing the rock wall, with all of it’s colors. I want to lose enough weight to be able to climb a rock wall. It looks like so much fun, and I do love climbing.

We would text some “here it comes, watch for it!” type of comments, as we have seen it a few times before.  We laughed a lot and enjoyed the movie together, even though we were 2 states away from each other. So funny, but it really was like being together. It was great!  When it was over, we said goodnight and said how much fun we had.   Film Reviews for Princess Diaries, The       

I suggested that we take inventory of the movies we already own, then put a star by the ones we favor the most currently, the ones we would like to see again sometime soon. Email the lists to each other and mark “same movies”, pull them to the front of our collection so they are ready to view in a moment’s notice. We don’t always have enough warning that we can have girl-time, so it would be great to have those ready. Or, if she has one I haven’t seen yet, and I know enough ahead, I could rent it for an evening.     

With me having been laid off recently, and my brother losing hours, this was a wonderful solution for entertainment and company! (We both are with the same cell phone company, so no cost for calls, and we each have text plans that allow for this kind of evening once in a while.)  

I do have some friends this wouldn’t fly with. They want to be with you, or in a theater. Some family members are always so busy I am not sure it would work with them, either, but it may. Our trial showed it not only works, it works on the spur of the moment, and is also great fun!  

I highly recommend trying this to anyone who cares to read this post. It can be adapted by using laptops if you have them (I don’t yet) and private chat, or calling on the phone instead of texting, whatever works for you and your movie buddy.      

  The Princess Diaries Dvdrip           EI > Reviews > The Princess Diaries (2001) - Movie Reviews, Previews ...           #16: The Princess Diaries (2001) - UltimateDisney.com's Top Live ...         The Princess Diaries Special       American Rhetoric: Movie Speech - Princess Diaries - Mia Announces Her ...      to Become a Princess      Images and posters for The Princess Diaries    Film Reviews for Princess Diaries, The

                                                                     The Princess Diaries -reviews, news, gallery, views                         

 

 

Responses

  1. LOVE it. Danny and I have done similar stuff with shows before. It really is too fun! Glad you enjoyed it. See, we can come up with solutions for fun even when we need to stay home and not spend much!

    • Yep! I was raised with no spending money, so it is easyier for me to “make my own fun” than for some others. It just takes someone who is game.
      She thought we should patent the idea. LOL! But, I knew in my heart it wasn’t the first time someone has done such a thing, just a new thought for me. I have been so surprised at how many great responses I had to this status on facebook! Lots of ladies are going to try it with those they love across the miles. I am glad!
      It is good to have a movie that can be so cheesy and so hilarious, too! So funny!


Leave a Reply

Categories

